Kimberly D. Frodin
The Role of Scott County Appraiser
The County Appraiser and his or her staff is responsible for the discovery, listing, and the uniform and equitable appraisal of all taxable and exempt real and personal property within Scott County in compliance with the constitution and statutes of the State of Kansas for tax purposes.
Real property and personal property is appraised as of January 1 every years. Partially complete new construction is appraised based upon its percentage of completion as of January 1. Market value (What a willing buyer and willing seller would agree to) is the basis of value for most real property except agricultural land. Agricultural land is appraised on the basis of its productivity and a formula determined by Kansas Constitution, statutes, and state guidelines. Most personal property (except business, machinery equipment, RV's, etc) is also appraised at market value.
Copies: $1 per page
Query: (Simple) $5 + per page cost if printed
(Indepth) research fee
Research Fee: $25/hour prorated at 1/2 hour
Website Research: $300/year with approved license and signed yearly contract.
How do I calculate the property taxes on my property?
Example: If the appraised value of your home is $50,000:
- Multiply the appraised value by the "assessment %" for your property.
-> Appraised Value X Assessment Rate = Assessed value
-> $50,000 X 0.115 = $5,750
- Multiply the assessed value by your "mill levy" and then divide by 1,000 to estimate the property tax you owe.
-> $5,750 X ** / = assessed value mill levy tax bill
Contact your County Clerk at 620-872-2420 to find out what your mill levy is.
What can I do if I believe the value of my property is too high?
Use 1 of 2 ways to challenge the value of your property:
You may appeal the "notice of value" by contacting the County Appraiser's office to schedule an informal meeting with an appraiser within 30 days from the date the notice of value is mailed for real property and by May 15th for personal property.
You may fill out a "payment under protest" form with the County Treasurer at the time you pay your taxes. If you paid all your taxes prior to December 20th then the protest can be made no later than December 20th or by January 31st if paid out of an escrow account or by a tax service.
You cannot appeal your notice then pay under protest for the same property in the same tax year.
Does the County Appraiser visit my property?
State law requires your County Appraiser to visually inspect 17% of all real property in the county every year and re-examine each property on a 6-year cycle.